Next Generation of Nucleon Decay and Neutrino Detectors
7-9 April 2005
Aussois, Savoie, France

First Bulletin (January 2005)

1. General information

After "Neutrino 2004" the convergence of results from atmospheric, solar, reactor and accelerator experiments confirms the massive neutrino and gives the first opportunity to test physics beyond the Standard Model. The neutrino oscillations picture is still missing 3 fundamental ingredients: the mixing angle θ13, the mass pattern and the CP phase δ.

Future neutrino beams of conventional and novel design aimed at a megaton type detector could give access to these parameters. Such a detector would also be the next generation facility for proton decay searches and an invaluable supernovae neutrino observatory.

There are currently studies for building such a detector in at least three regions in the world (Japan, US and Europe). This workshop, faithfull to the tradition of previous NNN conferences, aims at a wide discussion on the roadmap and the overall coordination of the megaton scale detector community.

The meeting will be organized on April 7-9 in Aussois, a little village in the french Alps, 10 km away from the Frejus tunnel, which hosts the Modane Underground Laboratory. A collaboration meeting will be held by the UNO Collaboration one day earlier (April 6).

Information about the conference is available on the conference website

2. Scientific programme

The programme will consist of invited plenary talks only. The following subjects will be covered:

A general discussion on strategy will be held during the workshop.

3. Transparencies and Proceedings

Copies of the transparencies will be available on the website immediately after the conference.

A white book based on the contents / conclusions / deliberations / presentations of the workshop is planned.

4. Registration

Registration will be opened in January 2005 on the conference website.

Registration fees:

The deadline for registration is February 28 2005. The fees include accomodation and full boarding (from April 6 dinner-time to April 9 lunch-time for NNN05 participants and from April 5 dinner-time to April 9 lunch-time for NNN05+UNO participants).

5. Committees

International Advisory Committee:

Hiroaki Aihara (Tokyo)
J.N. Bahcall (Princeton)
Mila Baldo Ceolin (Padova)
Barry Barish (Pasadena)
Eugene Beier (Philadelphia)
Alain Blondel (Geneva)
Eugenio Coccia (Gran Sasso)
Enrique Fernandez (Barcelona)
Gianluigi Fogli (Bari)
Thomas Gaisser (Newark)
Maurice Goldhaber (Brookhaven)
Helmut Haseroth (Cern)
Chang Kee Jung (Stony Brook)
Thomas Kirk (Brookhaven)
Paul Langaker (Philadelphia)
Mats Lindroos (CERN)
William Marciano (Brookhaven)
Kenzo Nakamura (KEK)
Vittorio Palladino (Naples)
Jogesh Pati (College Park)
André Rubbia (Zurich)
Bernard Sadoulet (Berkeley)
David Sinclair (Ottawa)
Hank Sobel (Irvine)
Michel Spiro (Paris) Chairman
Paolo Strolin (Naples)
Lawrence Sulak (Boston & Marseille)
Yoichiro Suzuki (Tokyo)
Yoji Totsuka (KEK)
Franck Wilczek (Boston)
Edward Witten (Princeton)
Stanley G. Wojcicki (Stanford)

Local Organizing Committee:

Sandrine Barrère (Paris))
Alain de Bellefon (Paris)
Jacques Bouchez (Saclay)
J.-E. Campagne (Orsay)
Christian Cavata (Saclay)
Cédric Cerna (Marseille)
I. Cossin (Paris)
Jérôme Damet (Annecy)
Sacha Davidson (Lyon)
J. Dumarchez (Paris)
Roxane Graindorge (Saclay)
Stavros Katsanevas (Paris)
Luigi Mosca (Saclay)

6. Preliminary List of Conference Sponsors:

7. Travel Information

Some travel information is posted on the website, specially train schedules from Paris, Lyon, Geneva or Milano.

8. Further Information

The conference website will be updated as information becomes available. Further questions and special requests can be addressed to the conference secretariat:
Isabelle Cossin - Sandrine Barrère / NNN05
LPNHE, T33 - 4 place Jussieu
75252 Paris Cedex 05 - FRANCE

Phone: +33 (0)1 44 27 68 95
Fax: +33 (0)1 44 27 46 38
Email: nnn05@in2p3.fr